What I Am Still Learning From My Cancer Part 2

Today, I got the results my 6th CT scan. I started down this road over 3 years ago. On November 17th 2006, I found out I had a tumor the size of a cantaloupe in my colon. Well, it didn’t stay contained in the colon. It had attached itself to the abdominal wall, small intestine, another section of the large intestine, and the bladder. December 4th, 2006 I had surgery to attempt to remove this beast. The surgeon was successful in removing the tumor along with a bladder resection and colon and small intestine resections. On December 7th, 2006 the pathology report showed that there was no cancer to be found in my system. Nothing in the margins, and 22 out of 22 lymph nodes completely clean. Since then, I had six months of intensive chemo. My oncologist termed that preventative. I have been since visiting my oncologist every three months. I was scheduled to do that for 5 years. I have been informed if my results keep coming back like all previous results that I can be declared “cancer free” by the oncologist.

The current results still showed a spot on my liver . However I have been informed by my oncologist that it is nothing and I should not be concerned. While yes, they found a spot, ALL other labs, blood work and markers are “perfect”. AMAZING! This journey has never been about me. It has always been about God and His glory.

So what’s the next step? We keep moving. We keep living a healthy lifestyle for both my physical being as well as my spiritual. I will see my oncologist in 6 months for my “normal” routine of blood work. Then we should be on to the maintenance visits of every year.

Stay tuned…because I know God is not finished, with me or this journey. Exciting things are coming out of this journey. More on that later.

For now thanks for the prayers and support. See you next time.

Leave a Reply

